taste of fall.

Fall is wonderful.

And if you know anything about me, you know I have an unhealthy (but completely reasonable) obsession with You’ve Got Mail. And every time fall rolls around, I go all Kathleen Kelly, and want to walk down the street to the tune of “Dreams” by the Cranberries, (culminating in what is my opinion, one of the very best scenes in cinematic history) and ask anyone who will listen:

“Don’t you love New York (PROVO for the purposes of this conversation) in the fall? It makes me wanna buy school supplies. I would send you a bouquet of newly sharpened pencils…” (my adapted version – turns out my life, in fact, is NOT a Nora Ephron movie).

BUT, in running the risk of distracting from this post’s real purpose, I offer this post (and this post for other Tom Hanks love notes and additionally related You’ve Got Mail discussions) as a celebration of fall . And specifically, fall food.

The memories of enjoying fall food was cemented even in childhood, as I devoured homemade apple cider with my friend Heather at our local pumpkin patch, gulping the treat quickly en route to slides, pumpkin picking, and hay rides.

This is easily my favorite time of year, possessing a kind of magical quality that carries straight through the beginning of a new school year, new birthdays, Halloween, and Thanksgiving, a lovely beginning to holiday festivities on their way.

It’s the time when I unearth my entirely-too large collection of sweaters (most of which are adorned with weird animal shapes or in odd colors) and cuddle in mounds of blankets. It’s enjoying the chilly weather and the rainbow of colors displayed by leaves everywhere. It’s cheering your lungs out at football games, and indulging on Halloween candy (that you may or may not have…BUT DEFINITELY DID trick-or-treat for). It’s enjoying so many sweet potatoes and turkey at your Thanksgiving trip to the beach that you go in a deep food coma and get made fun of by your family members. It’s pumpkin-flavored EVERYTHING. It’s your special someone grabbing your hand and tucking your frigid fingers into their sweatshirt pocket because they know how cold you get, even in October. It’s wind-bitten cheeks and apple pie, hot cocoa and re-reading all the Harry Potters. It’s staying indoors, and filling up the apartment with baking smells, and enjoying new music. It’s haunted houses and corn mazes, cheetah-print scarves and using any excuse to get outside. It’s new-ness, and joy.

(Photo via)

And (hopefully) to some benefit for you, I dug up some of my favorite fall recipes I can’t wait to try from the recesses of my Pinterest ‘likes’ section. Enjoy, and happy fall!

Crock Pot Baked Apples

Baked Apple Cider Donuts

Pumpkin Cream Cheese

Pumpkin Scones

Pumpkin Cheesecake

Tomato Basil Parmesan Soup

Creamed Corn Casserole

Pumpkin Pie French Toast

Pumpkin Gingerbread Ice Cream Sandwiches

Baked French Toast

Garlic Bread

Marshmallow Topped Sweet Potatoes

Thai Coconut Curry Soup

Banana Toffee Pie

Apple and Brie Melts

Sweet Potato Casserole

Oat Apple Crisp

Cinnamon Rolls

Slow-Cooker French Dip

Caramel Corn

Pumpkin Crunch

Enchilada Lasagna

Sweet Potato Cinnamon Rolls

Sweet Potato with Roasted Marshmallow Frosting

Cinnamon Roll Cupcakes

Snickerdoodle Pumpkin Ice Cream Sandwiches

Peach Crisp with Maple Cream Sauce

YUM. Let the salivating ensue.

And as a last note, please forgive all my parentheticals. I am an abuser, and I’m working on it! #embarrassing

One thought on “taste of fall.

  1. [...] – LOVING classes, despite the why-did-I-think-17-credits-was-a-good-idea load. Especially my writing class. I get to write about food. Best thing ever. Speaking of, I have a new fall post on the food blog – go look! [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

