breakfast.

Breakfast is easily my favorite meal of the day.

I’m a breakfast fan groupie, and insist on the whole shebang: pancakes, toast, eggs, bacon even.

(photo via)

In fact, I am convinced that breakfast knows no boundaries or time limits. Breakfast in the a.m.? Wonderful. Breakfast in the p.m.? BRILLIANT.

It’s got that sort of magical delicious-anytime feel, a joy-and-sugar-induced quality that can start or end a day in the best possible way.

In fact, I almost got into an altercation with a employee at a Provo restaurant (which I shall not name) who refused to serve me breakfast at 11:10 a.m.

ANYTIME IS BREAKFAST TIME, for goodness sakes!

Plus, if people only knew how I feel about waffles….well, then they WOULDN’T MESS.

(AND, there is second breakfast, you know…)

Breakfast is associated with a lot of wonderful memories for me.

There was the time I ate breakfast in Central Park on a beautiful August day, eating cinnamon rolls and watching kids play and couples walk.

There was the time I celebrated the beginning of warm spring weather with a breakfast brunch (favorite casserole recipe here) with my Home Teachers freshman year.

There were the many mornings after seminary I spent talking with my mom over breakfast in our kitchen, or the Christmas eve mornings that my family and I trek to IHOP.

There was the time I brought a pan of baked french toast (my favorite breakfast recipe) to a late outdoor movie with friends. (Sugar + Hook = amazing)

This time, breakfast found its way again to good times with good friends. I call this: General Conference brunch.

On this chilly October morning with friends I had the breakfast of all breakfasts: Kasee’s usual egg casserole, baked french toast, but this time with the addition of my roommates LEGENDARY pancakes. We feasted! I cherish the memory of coming together with people I love, enjoying good food and listening to the inspired guidance from divine leaders. What a blessed memory!

The love of breakfast lives on, and I can’t say I don’t have a few breakfast traditions up my sleeve I’m dying to begin with my future family, even if for now I just employ this unexciting but delicious breakfast for a.m. college classes.

In the meantime, can’t wait to give these delicious recipes a whirl sometime REAL soon. YUM.

Cinnamon Rolls

Baked French Toast

Also, if you want to know more about living prophets and the messages given in General Conference:

A SPIRITUAL FEASTING, if you will.

Leave a Reply

